Home > Italy > 2005 Braida Bricco della Bigotta Barbera d’Asti

2005 Braida Bricco della Bigotta Barbera d’Asti

706140_445103212217356_61290656_o

I bought this bottle last year in September when I visited Braida. It was one of the wines served during the lunch I  had with Mrs Raffaella Bolognathat at the winery and also the wine I absolutely loved in the lineup of three different Barberas. I liked it for being supple and classic.

2005 Braida  Bricco della Bigotta Barbera d’Asti

Dark red garnet color. I had this wine over 3 days and while in the first two days it showed a bit closer than I remember it for the last two times I had it, it was on the third day that it showed the aromatics that seduced me in the first place. It certainly shows good complexity and depth over all 3 days, but it blossomed on the third one. A prolonged aeration is more than recommendable for this wine. The nose is well developed, intense, complex and full, showing aromas of black cherry, plum, liquorice, violets and spices, and rocking aromas of truffles and leather on 3rd day. Full in the mouth, balanced and fresh, ripe tannins, complex and a real pleasure to enjoy it. Long finish, with beautiful black cherry fruit, tobacco and spices. (91-92/100)

If this 2005 (a rather difficult year in Piedmont that presented some ripeness problems) is so good, I wonder how 2004 or 2006 are.

Categories: Italy Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

