Home > Romania > Davino Flamboyant 2007

Davino Flamboyant 2007

I wrote previously about Davino when I visited their winery in December and also when I attended a vertical tasting of 6 vintages of Domaine Ceptura Rouge at Vinexpert. The Flamboyant is the winery’s flagship red wine, a blend of predominantly Cabernet Sauvignon with Feteasca Neagra and Merlot, aged for up to 8-10 months in new Romanian oak barrels. The best barrels of Cabernet Sauvignon end up in this blend and in the more expensive Rezerva. I received this bottle as a sample from Mr Dan Balaban, Davino’s majority shareholder.

2007 Davino Flamboyant

Clean dark red garnet color. An intense and developing nose, with real complexity, the first thing that comes to mind is how youthful this nose feels like. The aromas of ripe red fruits that are very well represented: red currant, red cherry and raspberry, mix very well with additional aromas of sandalwood, mint, cinnamon, cloves and coffee bean. Full bodied yet supple on the palate, the wine shows a really velvety mouth-feel, a good structure, with incredible freshness and balance considering the 14.7% alcohol. The wine feels lively in the mouth with an elevated drink-ability. The finish is medium plus long, maintaining the same freshness, with lingering flavors of ripe red fruits and spices. The wine has a great potential for aging and, as much as right now the only thought that sticks to my mind is how youthful it is and that I should not have opened it, I’m glad I did and I can’t wait to try it in a few years again as the wine will evolve gracefully and gain more points. (91/100)

I find this style very similar to an Old School Left Bank Bordeaux. The balance and the freshness are really outstanding in this wine, with no signs of greenness and just ripe fruit at this stage.

Categories: Romania
  1. incaunipocrit
    February 23, 2012 at 18:20

    Reblogged this on ATA MOTEK.

  2. BogdanC
    February 23, 2012 at 20:22

    Sunt curios cum zmeura nu acopera prin aroma specifica (si puternica in acelasi timp) niste fructe cu arome cel putin subtiri (coacazele rosii si ciresele tot rosii). O sa-l incerc si eu si revin cu impresiile.

    • February 23, 2012 at 20:34

      Bogdan,

      sa inteleg conform rationamentului tau ca atunci cand vorbim de arome de fructe rosii si apare zmeura automat celelalte arome mentionate de tine nu mai pot razbi chiar daca sunt acolo ?

      Te astept cu impresii dupa ce incerci vinul.

  3. BogdanC
    February 23, 2012 at 22:55

    Ziceam doar ca mirosul lor este extrem de vag si ar fi foarte greu de detectat (nu mai zic de gust) chiar si in absenta zmeurei. Dar depinde si de nas.

    • February 24, 2012 at 11:35

      Noi sa fim sanatosi ca aromele vin si pleaca

  4. February 25, 2012 at 18:03

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I definitely like yours because of the nicely detailed wine descriptions. Like you I work in the financial industry and am mostly self-taught with respect to wine. I have about 1000 bottles in wine fridges at home, all for own use🙂

    • February 27, 2012 at 13:37

      Hi Stefan,

      thanks also for following my blog. You have a lot of educational material on how to use the sous-vide method to cook fish. I have to get myself also one of those sous-vide gadgets. Indeed it seems that we come from the same industry and we share the same passions for good food and wines. I am pretty sure that you have a lot of interesting wines in your 1000 wines fridge. Perhaps when I travel next to Holland we can meet and share some bottles of wine together. I also have a few bottles in my cellar, perhaps not as many as you have but I am pretty sure we can find something interesting for me to bring also.

      Best regards,
      Cosmin

      • February 28, 2012 at 00:14

        Hi Cosmin,

        That sounds like a good idea! Definitely let me know when you are in Holland, which is probably more likely to happen than me ending up in Romania any time soon.

        As for the 1000 bottles, I thought I read somewhere you have many more. But I suppose it’s different if it’s not for personal use. And besides, it’s not about quantity but about quality. There are two reasons why we have so many:
        (1) if I taste a wine and I like it, it’s difficult to resist buying at least 6 bottles
        (2) a lot of those bottles need 5-10 years of ageing before we can drink them, which takes up a lot of ‘dead space’

        Sous-vide is very nice! Besides the ‘gadget’ and ‘geeky’ factor it is also a smart thing because you can turn cheap tough beef into tasty tender steak with it.

        Take care,
        Stefan

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

