Home > Spain > A white wine from Priorat

A white wine from Priorat

nicely colored front label

My wife and I spent another lovely evening on MON with our Greek friends serving a delicious home made dinner. Christiana, our host, prepares by far some of the best dishes ever. I am her biggest fan. Last night we visited them with the clear and declared intention to learn her recipe of  pasta with prawns in a champagne and saffron sauce. Unfortunately I was busy discussing wines and different stuff with the guys so it is my wife the one initiated in the secrets of the saffron pasta. Therefore I cannot share with you the recipe. Yet.

The food was extremely good with a very rich salad with dried tomatoes, sultanas, small toasted bread, green salad leaves, Parmesan, some herbs and a mix of honey, balsamic vinegar and olive oil.

The pasta was even better. I have to admit that the wine we had this evening was a better match to the salad than it was for the pasta. The honeyed flavors in the wine were matched by the sweet sultanas and honey from the salad.

The wine came into my possession from abroad and it is a white wine from Priorat, Spain. Priorat is a region/appellation close to Barcelona that is famous for its reds. The reds are usually blends of the same type of grapes as in the South of France: Grenache Noir, Mourvedre, Syrah plus some local and International varieties. It is the first time I try a white wine from Priorat. I have to try more for sure.

Produced by a well established and iconic producer from Priorat: Clos Mogador famous for its reds, the Clos Nelin, our wine for dinner is a blend of Garnacha Blanca-Viognier-Marsanne-Macabeo and Pinot Noir. Probably the Pinot Noir is vinified in white. I wonder if Recas wineries got their inspiration from Spain when they decided to make the Solo Quinta cuvee that uses also a red grape variety blended with 3-4 different white varieties. I know that their winemaker’s wife also makes wine in Spain in Rioja. That’s food for thought.

2007 Clos Mogador Blanco Nelin (DOC Priorat)

The color is pinkish gold-amber. The nose is tight when the wine is cold but as it gets warmer, honey and orange peel make a distinctive nose. In the mouth the wine is rich, fat, spicy, fragrant with honeyed and exotic spices, nice fresh citrus fruits flavors, medium to full bodied, overall a complex and great mouth feel even if it has a low acidity. The finish is medium and intense with a spicy fresh aftertaste. This is a dry wine. 90 points

A great and balanced wine with 14% alc that develops complex flavors served warmer at room temperature.

somebody anxiously waits to sit at this table

We really enjoyed the food, the wine and the great company of our friends last night. Let’s hope every night will be like this.

Thanks for reading!

Categories: Spain
  1. January 18, 2011 at 16:59

    Cosmin
    Its not true!
    Solo quinta was actually a kind of accident and was my idea. I wanted to make a top white cuvee, and I told Hartley and Nora to pick our our best white wines for a blend of many varieties- partly inspired by Razvan macici’s fantastic ‘Ingenuity’ blend from Neederberg, South Africa. At the time we also were making a white Cabernet for a customer in England- so I told hartley to try that in the blend- and – the rest is history- It worked. This year we did the same thing but with Feteasca Neagra.!

    • January 18, 2011 at 17:21

      Dear Mr Cox,

      I appreciate your comment and I am content you bring light about the inception of Solo Quinta so others can read it as well. I like the wine a lot and I wrote many times already about it on this blog. I will start to post my tasting notes on this wine on cellartracker.com soon so that other people that wish to purchase this wine can have a guide before the pay for it. My intention is to post my tasting notes on cellartracker.com on as many Romanian wines as possible. I hope this will guide people, especially foreigners, to focus their attention on our wines and try them more often.

      I am looking forward to taste the new 2010 Solo Quinta when is going to be available for release. I did have the chance to try a sample of it during the last Good wine fair in 2010 but as I understood the wine was not bottled yet. Probably with some time spent in the bottle the wine will be even more interesting. I cannot wait to try the Cuvee Uberland 2009 again once it will be ready to be released on the market. Good luck and many more good wines made !

      Regards,
      Cosmin

  2. January 19, 2011 at 10:32

    Cosmin,
    Solo Quinta 2010 is now bottled and on sale- and I have a plan to send you a weekly series of new wines that we produce and import.
    Uberland 2009 is not bottled yet, but will be bottled in feb.Unfortunately we don’t want to start selling it until winter of 2011 because it has to stay in the bottle a while- but I am sure you will get to taste it during its ‘childhood’.
    philip

    • January 19, 2011 at 13:05

      I am looking forward to taste those two wines(Solo Quinta 2010 and Uberland 2009) whenever you believe it is appropriate and your initiative with the weekly series of new wines is highly regarded and expected.

      Regards,
      Cosmin

  1. January 23, 2011 at 20:53

Leave a Reply

