Home > Italy > 2004 Camigliano Brunello di Montalcino

2004 Camigliano Brunello di Montalcino

Camigliano 2004

I paid a visit on SAT morning to Piata Matache – some type of vegetables and meat farmers market in Bucharest – where I usually find good lamb, beef and goat meat and was able to find what I was looking for: a nice tender pack of fresh lamb chops. I kindly asked Florin how does he usually prepare the lamb chops and after receiving proper instructions, a little bit depressing for me initially, I ventured to try it anyway.

I found out that usually Romanian lamb chops need to spend more time marinated, about 3-4 days before they get really tender as opposed to New Zealand or Scottish lamb chops that are very tender and can be prepared almost immediately. In spite of that, SAT I grilled a few of them anyway and the rest I put to marinate and will wait for 2-3 days before cooking them. The grilled lamb chops were pretty tender already, so now I am really curious how the marinated ones will be.

I was in the mood for an Italian wine so I chose a 2004 Brunello di Montalcino that was purchased from a wine shop in Italy.

2004 Camigliano Brunello di Montalcino

Price: 32 EUR

The wine has a red garnet color. Upon opening the wine shows ripe red fruits, yeast and earth. After about 2 hours in the decanter the wine opens up more and reveals leather, earth, a mix of sweet ripe red fruits: strawberries and cherries developing towards very discreet small dark berries. In the mouth the wine is medium body with firm tannins, with a salty component that can be felt on the initial attack, developing flavors of sweet red fruits, dry mushrooms, earth and coffee bean. The salty component is very interesting and intriguing. The finish is pretty dry and leaves bittersweet dark chocolate on the medium aftertaste. A Very good- wine.

I was expecting more from a Brunello, especially from the acclaimed 2004 vintage. Paired with the grilled lamb chops it was all right. This is not a wine I would purchase again and I firmly believe that, for the same money, you can find better examples of 2004 Brunello di Montalcino.

Thanks for reading!

Categories: Italy

Leave a Reply

